capital of new zealand currency

Capital of New Zealand: Capital and Currency

Capital City of New Zealand: Wellington Capital City

Wellington is the capital of New Zealand and the seat of parliament since 1865. The capital city of New Zealand before Wellington was Auckland from 1841 to 1865. Before 1865, Old Russell also called Okiato was the capital of the country. So Okiato was the first capital of New Zealand from 1840 to 1841. After a short time, the seat of government was moved to Auckland.

capital city of Australia

capital cities of South Africa

US states with postal abbreviations

In 2015, the country celebrated the 150th anniversary of the New Zealand capital moving to Wellington. The currency of the nation is the New Zealand dollar. The currency is popularly known in New Zealand as Kiwi Dollar. It is also used in the Cook Islands, Pitcairn Islands, Tokelau, and Niue. These are territories of the country. The countries situated closest to New Zealand are Tonga, Fiji, and New Caledonia.

Public Holidays in New Zealand 2021

Here is a list of the public holidays of New Zealand for 2021.

  • New Year Day – 1st January 2021, Friday
  • Second Day of New Year Day – 2nd January 2021, Saturday or 4th January 2021, Monday
  • Waitangi Day – 6th February 2021, Saturday or 8th February 2021, Monday
  • Good Friday – 2nd April 2021, Friday
  • Easter Monday – 5th April 2021, Monday
  • Anzac Day – 25th April 2021, Sunday or 26th April 2021, Monday
  • Queen’s Birthday – 7th June 2021, Monday
  • Labour Day – 25th October 2021, Monday
  • Christmas Holiday – 25th December 2021, Saturday or 27th December 2021, Monday
  • Boxing Day – 26th December 2021, Sunday or 28th December 2021, Tuesday

Likewise, many other countries, New Zealand observes the holiday on the following day if the festival is on a weekend day.

What is Mondayisation

Mondayisation is mondayising the holidays which fall on weekends. Generally, national holidays like Christmas and New Year are mondayised. If they fall on Saturday or Sunday, the coming Monday are declared holiday or paid holiday for the employees. Countries like New Zealand and Australia follow mondayised holidays.  For example, if 25th December is on Sunday, then Monday would be a holiday for the employees.

Note: The dates are true to our knowledge and as declared by the authorities as of today. Users should consider any change in the dates that may take place at a later stage.

capital of new zealand currency

capital of Punjab

Provincial Anniversary Days in New Zealand

Every province has locally observed anniversary days. These holidays are celebrated and observed locally and not countrywide. These anniversary days mark the celebration of the landing days of the very first colonists or the day of the founding of the provinces. The dates and the days of celebration of the anniversary days may vary in different provinces. The reason is that these anniversary day celebrations are mostly on Friday or Monday.

25th January 2021, Monday – Wellington Anniversary Day

1st February 2021, Monday – Auckland Anniversary Day

1st February 2021, Monday –  Buller Anniversary Day

1st February 2021, Monday – Nelson Anniversary Day

1st February 2021, Monday – Northland Anniversary Day

8th March 2021, Monday – Taranaki Anniversary Day

22nd March 2021, Monday – Otago Anniversary Day

6th April 2021, Tuesday – Southland Anniversary Day

27th September 2021, Monday – Canterbury Anniversary Day (South)

22nd October 2021, Friday – Hawke’s Bay Anniversary Day

1st November 2021, Monday – Marlborough Anniversary Day

12th November 2021, Friday – Canterbury Anniversary Day

29th November 2021, Monday – Chatham Islands Anniversary Day

29th November 2021, Monday – Westland Anniversary Day

Note: The dates are true to our knowledge and as declared by the authorities as of today. Users should consider any change in the dates that may take place at a later stage.

Follow capitalinfo.com to learn the capital of New Zealand, Australia, Korea, South Africa, and host of other countries. The website is created purely to provide information at one place. The information covers the capital cities of the countries and their languages and public holidays as well as currencies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

DMCA.com Protection Status