capital of UK

Capital of UK: Capital Cities of the United Kingdom

Capital of England: Currency and Official Languages

If you are looking for information on the capital of the UK, do stay here. You will learn more than what are the capital cities of England. The country is one of the most developed nations in the world. It is also known as the United Kingdom of Great Britain. It covers the island of Britain, a much smaller island including Scotland and northeastern Ireland. This information shares a currency, capital of Britain, official languages, and festivals.

public holidays and festivals in Germany

We have also covered the information on the capital of England before London. The nation has an interesting political history as well. UK capital and currency are among the strongest ones in the world. It is a constitutional monarchy and also a unitary parliamentary democratic country. The capital of the UK is London which is a global hub for trade and finance. Since the nation consists of four different regions, we have shared all the four regions with capital cities.

capital of UK

What is The Capital of Great Britain: London

The United Kingdom is the name of this country and the capital city is London. The United Kingdom is known by various names. These names have different meanings and indications. The islands of England, Scotland, and Wales are collectively known as Great Britain. Great Britain means the region that consists of the country of England and Wales. The United Kingdom is for the union of these islands and Northern Ireland. The country of Northern Ireland shares a border with the Republic of Ireland. While Northern Ireland is the part of the UK, the Republic of Ireland is a separate country.

London is the capital of the UK and a major hub for financial and economic activities in the country. The city of London is located on the famous river Thames. It also accommodates one of the busiest international airport called London Heathrow airport. Hundreds of industries like arts, entertainment, fashion, transportation, investment media, technology, healthcare, and tourism are flourishing in the city. It is also the most visited city by international tourists.

spain states and capitals

What Was the Capital of England Before London

The Kingdom of England was a sovereign state of the Great Britain islands. In the year 1707, the Kingdom of England was united with Scotland forming the Kingdom of Great Britain. Before 1707, the country was having several Anglo-Saxon Kingdoms and the capital city was Winchester. These kingdoms were united in the year 927.

Later on in 1016, the capital city was shifted from Winchester to Westminster where the royal residence was located. Westminster is the same region in London where the government district was established. Very soon, London was established as the major commercial hub of the United Kingdom.

capital of Assam

UK Capital and Currency

The history of the currency used by mankind is as old as mankind. Currently, the official currency of the United Kingdom is the Great British Pound abbreviated as GBP. It is used in England as well as in the territories of the country. 100 pence make one pound and it is also known as sterling pound. The symbol of the pound or GBP is £. Many British Overseas Territories also use the same currency. Are you confused about pound and sterling? They are not different currencies. Sterling pound is the official name of the GBP or pound.

capital of England

List of British Overseas Territories

The BOTs or the British Overseas Territories are the Overseas Territories of the United Kingdom. They are fourteen and the list is presented here for your ready reference. Most of these regions are self-governing and fragments of the British Empire.

  1. British Antarctic Territory
  2. South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  3. British Indian Ocean Territory
  4. Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  5. Pitcairn Islands
  6. Falkland Islands
  7. Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  8. Anguilla
  9. The British Virgin Islands
  10. Cayman Islands
  11. Montserrat
  12. Bermuda
  13. Gibraltar
  14. Turks and Caicos Islands

As far as the language is concerned, the official language of the United Kingdom is English. The British Overseas Territories also speak other languages apart from English. Some of them are Greek, Turkish, Cayman Creole, Yanito, and Pitkern. Apart from the capital of the UK, you can also browse our site to learn the capital cities of Spain, Germany, and Switzerland. We will be bringing quick information on capitals of the Netherlands, South Africa, and Brazil.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked * Protection Status